The 6am Smokers

Today, amid a heatwave in San Jose, I woke up extra early to start a pork rib smoke. I found two simple baby back ribs. One I planned to keep plain and simple with salt and pepper, the other with a pork rub and Kansas Style tangy sauce.

I started at 220F with Smoke level 5 on my WoodWind Pellet smoker. After 2-2.5 hours, I wrapped the ribs for 2 hours. Then I finished them off unwrapped. After 20-30 minutes rest, it was lunch time.

I was able to control the temperature very well. There were no big temperature swings. The final temperature for the ribs was about 189F.

The result tasted great. It was less juicy than I wanted, though it could also have been the meat.

Hour 2Hour 2

Hour 3Hour 3

Hour 4.5Hour 4.5

Hour 5.5Hour 5.5

ReadyReady

I especially enjoyed the early morning quiet. Sipping a cup of coffee, reading, and watching the chimney of my smoker. (It was too early to play the banjo.)

August 15, 2020


Previous post
Masterclass is … well … for almost-masters Last month, I canceled my annual subscription to Masterclass. I truly enjoyed watching Malcolm Gladwell discuss his research and how he crafts his
Next post
Eroding our basic systems "business as usual" #dontBelieveIt https://t.co/7CPDrL046D — waffletchnlgy 🚴 (@waffletchnlgy) August 14, 2020 My neighbor postal worker came