Masterclass is … well … for almost-masters

Last month, I canceled my annual subscription to Masterclass. I truly enjoyed watching Malcolm Gladwell discuss his research and how he crafts his stories. I learned a lot from Commander Chris about Space Exploration. David Sedaris’ masterclass felt more like an evening with David Sedaris. The most practical class was Aaron Franklin on Texas style barbecue. Therein lies the rub (pun intended). I was looking for practical advice and feedback. Similar to many MOOC, masterclass isn’t designed for that, and doesn’t create a good feedback loop.

I subscribed to become a better writer. The class community does provide some input, though there wasn’t really any editorial feedback. I will be looking for a more beginner level class, where my writings and re-writings are marked up.

August 9, 2020


Previous post
Internet of Grills For weeks, my family had endured the my pellet grill advertisements. “You can control the smoke levels throughout a 12-hours brisket cook”. “It
Next post
The 6am Smokers Today, amid a heatwave in San Jose, I woke up extra early to start a pork rib smoke. I found two simple baby back ribs. One I planned to keep plain