Internet of Grills

For weeks, my family had endured the my pellet grill advertisements.

You can control the smoke levels throughout a 12-hours brisket cook”. It tastes like a wood barbecue, with better temperature control, and the ease of use of a gas grill.”

I waited for a while to pull the trigger, waiting for a spring sale. Meanwhile, the free and unsolicited advertisements kept airing in our household. These grills are so popular that they sell themselves. There are few sales. My grill finally arrived on the weekend of the Fourth of July.

Thus far the grill has performed wonderful. I’ve made chicken, shrimp, chicken, ribs, sausages, lots of veggies.

A very nice feature is the ability to monitor and control the grill from my phone. With the four meat probes, I can check in on the temperature of the food. I can also adjust the grill temperature and smoke levels. It works over Bluetooth as well over Wi-Fi.

I realized this was the internet of Grills, when I also did an over the air update of the auger controller firmware and the Wi-Fi driver. I’ve never updated the firmware on our laundry machine.

I have yet to try an access the grill from outside my home network.

August 9, 2020


Previous post
Engineering with a big E There remains a big gap between the marvelous SpaceX engineering and the home networking technologies we have to deal with. See my previous two
Next post
Masterclass is … well … for almost-masters Last month, I canceled my annual subscription to Masterclass. I truly enjoyed watching Malcolm Gladwell discuss his research and how he crafts his