Eroding our basic systems

The erosion of the basic workings of the United States Postal Service is no surprise. In The Fifth Risk, Michael Lewis warns us about how Trump is attacking important systems which make our country function.

When Trump fires” the climate scientists at NOAA, Trump is impacting a lot more than the creation of climate reports. He is affecting how air traffic controllers and airlines get their weather reports. But who cares? Who even knows what NOAA stands for or what they bring to us?

With the postal service, it is different. My neighbor’s livelihood is affected. People are not receiving their medicine. Income cheques are delayed. Finally, (I hope), folks who didn’t realize the damage Trump is doing to important institutions, are waking up.

August 15, 2020


Previous post
The 6am Smokers Today, amid a heatwave in San Jose, I woke up extra early to start a pork rib smoke. I found two simple baby back ribs. One I planned to keep plain
Next post
It’s hot in San Jose I don’t do well with in hot weather. And here we are, amidst a heatwave with temperatures above 100F in San Jose. Temperature records were smashed