On a Quest for My First Bicycle Computer

I firmly believe that exercise gadgets are to be earned. I gifted myself an Apple Watch only after running hundreds of miles. After many hours in the saddle, I felt I earned the right to splurge on a bicycle computer. A bicycle commuter will allow me to guide my on my routes, to coach me on my climbs, to track my performance, and most importantly, to make me a safer through the combination with the Varia radar light.

My Apple Watch only goes so far on my cycling trips. Most importantly, it lacks easy accessibility and turn-by-turn GPS. I also didn’t want to ride with my iPhone mounted on my handle bars. The iPhone may overheat and is fragile.

Bicycle computers are hardened devices. They are able to withstand a bump here and there and handle rain and heat. Refresh cycles span multiple years, unlike other consumer electronics.

The hunt for a bicycle computer started over a year ago. Garmin, Wahoo, Hammerhead all have great devices.

Rumor had it that Garmin was about to refresh their Edge bicycle series. Last year, the flagship Edge 1040 and Edge 1040 Solar were released. These were big form factor and expensive devices. I decided to wait for the 5- or 8-series refresh. A month became a quarter, became a year, and more. It had become a monthly ritual to scour the cycling forums for news on the upcoming devices.

The wait is finally over. A few weeks ago, Garmin finally released the Edge 540 and 840 devices.

After reading a great review by DC Rainmaker, it was clear the Edge 840 was the device to purchase.

My initial experience has been superb. The device is easy to use and provides me the information at the time I need it. For example, it will switch automatically to a climb assist at the bottom of the hill. I made one small change to the default screen: I added my current heart rate.

I also like the Varia integration, although I turned off the audible notification.

I am looking forward to get more out of the stamina, recovery, and training features. I guess it needs a bit more riding data. It is a bit surprising it can not analyze the historic Strava data I shared with Garmin Connect.

Current verdict: a fan.

April 26, 2023


Previous post
First Impressions of Substack Notes: Decouple Subscriptions From Email I paused Twitter last year not wanting to be part of the Elon Musk hypocrisy show. When Elon Musk purchased Twitter (and I made a small profit on my
Next post
It Is Getting Real Yesterday, I joined a few hundred riders for the Northern California Day on the Ride. The ride gives you a preview of what it will be like on the