It Is Getting Real

Yesterday, I joined a few hundred riders for the Northern California Day on the Ride. The ride gives you a preview of what it will be like on the AIDS Lifecycle ride itself. We rode 70 miles and climbed a few hills in Marin County. It was an awesome and a very positive experience. It is all getting real. I cleared off a table in the garage to start staging the stuff the pack.

April has been a big-miles-training-month: 465 miles in the saddle. Yet, I realize that this monthly total is still less than what we will do in one week, riding from San Francisco to Los Angeles. Wowzie!

(From: South Bay Blaze Training ride #12)

The 80 miles South Bay Blaze ride to Andersen Lake and Morgan Hill was my longest distance in decades. We still have another big ride planned in the coming weeks (93 miles).

In April I finally joined the ranks of my fellow riders by purchasing a Garmin bicycle computer. I messed up a few times by prematurely ending the ride.

April 28, 2023 ALC2023


Previous post
On a Quest for My First Bicycle Computer I firmly believe that exercise gadgets are to be earned. I gifted myself an Apple Watch only after running hundreds of miles. After many hours in
Next post
Giro D’Italia’s Occurring Remco Evenepoel’s strong start in the Giro d’Italia this year gave hope to many Belgian cycling fans. When a positive covid test knocked him out of