Markdown all the way

At work, we primarily use Google Docs for collaborative writing. However, on my laptop Markdown rules the desktop. My todo list, my status reports, many emails, notes all start as a simple Markdown file.

My favorite editor is iA Writer. It is a great distraction-free editor. It supports some nifty features. For example, I can export directly to Medium.com. It allows for importing pictures, reference and embed other Markdown files, and even CSV files for tables. I wish it was easier to create a custom html template, and that iAWriter would support the folding feature on the MacOS version.

I enjoy the simplicity of Markdown so much that I even moved my blogging to a Markdown powered platform called Blot.im. I simply write in Markdown, save the file in a predetermined folder in DropBox and the Blot.im service automatically renders the HTML. If I am really paranoia, I use a revision control system to manage changes. The write-edit-publish cycle is very fast. I can also quickly edit the content from any device with access to DropBox. Lastly, all content fully remains under my control.

One capability has remained elusive: a collaborative markdown platform for the masses. GitHub does support Markdown, allows for multiple editors and revisions, and even allows for code review commentary”. But it was not designed for this. Glitch tries to bridge the two worlds as well, but lacks the suggest/comment capability.

Google Docs support for Markdown is the platform I was originally looking for, with suggest and comment mode, with real-time collaboration, and with revision control. Perhaps it could even be smart enough to allow one to access the Markdown file in Google Drive directly with external editors. I could then keep using my favorite editor, iA Writer. Such platform would appeal also to non-techies.

HackMD shows promise. I can write, invite collaborators and add and reply to comments. You can even import and export Markdown files from DropBox. Although in that case you are not editing the same file in Dropbox. HackMD appears to make a copy. My write-edit-publish cycle would thus be (1) write in iAWriter and save your first version in DropBox, (2) import, collaborate, edit, update a copy in HackMD, (3) export version2 back to DropBox, (4) rinse and repeat steps 2 and 3, and finally (5) publish.

As I use Markdown more and more, the idea of dealing with the formatting later, has become less of goal. The simplicity, easy of use and focus on the content is what makes me look for more integrations and use of Markdown everywhere.

December 12, 2020


Previous post
Preparing a memorial is very difficult This week I have been preparing a memorial for a colleague.
Next post
The Way I see it While preparing a Belgian staple food, vol-au-vent tonight, I watched Pete Souza’s documentary The Way I see it. It is such a great behind the