Preparing a memorial is very difficult

This week I have been preparing a memorial for a colleague.

https://www.linkedin.com/posts/janvanbruaene_i-am-sad-to-share-that-irwin-moiseff-lost-activity-6742231342894977024-as1o

This has not been easy. Although I have help in organizing the event, people ask me to review the slideshow, or what they want to say during the event or write the blogpost. It is very sad to read all those nice words.

I have no experience in putting this together at all. Let alone, I am not the type of person who easily finds the words for this.

Here’s what I wrote about Irwin.

Irwin joined RTI around the same time as I did. He was at RTI a bit earlier. As I was in the services and support team at the time, and Irwin was teaching quickstarts to our customers, our paths crossed often. After a few years, travel was becoming a burden to him. So I asked him, why don’t you join us on support. You’ll keep working with the customers directly and you don’t have to travel. And the rest is history. Throughout the years, he would bring it up regularly: Jan, I blame” you for bringing me to support.” But I don’t regret it. Every day you could tell he loved it.

Irwin was a smart engineer, with lots of debugging experience. He was the customer’s best advocate. He was humble, honest, direct, and very often funny. He said it the way he saw it. Especially if he didn’t like something in our products, he would call the developers and let them know in colorful explanation why … It didn’t make any sense”. Or there was that time at one of our company kick offs, where we normally discuss big picture things, strategy or roadmaps. Are there any questions?”, the presenter asked at the end of one of those presentations. … and Irwin’s hand went up. He didn’t want to waste the opportunity to share his opinion about a very specific Quality of Service field I got this one thing I got to tell ya, when customers use that Qos …”. He was always caring about the product and the customers.

Irwin was also very caring for his team. He admired all in the support team and spoke highly of them. Later in our professional relationship, when I wasn’t his direct manager anymore, I would call from time to time. He would always answer with To what do I owe this honor?” He appreciated the call.

During those calls, he would always make sure I knew how great each and every individual support engineer was. You hired a great new engineer for the support team.” or I am proud to work for your new support manager” or That young kid straight out of school is smart as a whip. Make sure you keep them.” No matter your age, your experience, your background, or your title, he respected you.

I admired Irwin’s spirit, how he was forever young at heart. Those who worked with Irwin knew he still rode dirt bikes, his Harley Davidson. He seemed happiest when it started to snow and he could go ski or snowmobile.

One of my favorite visuals of Irwin - and yes may not be suitable for work - was after one of those ski trips. He was working part-time already at that time. He had just returned from a morning on the slopes. He must have been thinking about a support case on the slopes. Maybe he had figured it out, or something was bothering him and he wanted to check in on it. He didn’t waste a moment. He skyped me right away, and not even fully changed out of his ski gear he wanted to run something by me. His hair was a mess. Bare-chested in his ski-pants and full of energy. … I think I figured it out .. let me tell ya” … and off we went into the technical details. It took me a moment to catch on, as I was just thinking: I hope he shows up like this only with me.

That’s the Irwin I will always remember: thinking about customers, caring about his team, and full of energy.

I will miss you!

December 10, 2020


Previous post
I have an interest in the garbage business Why is garbage collection so different depending on where you live? Shouldn’t this be simple, uniform, and straightforward? In San Jose, local
Next post
Markdown all the way At work, we primarily use Google Docs for collaborative writing. However, on my laptop Markdown rules the desktop. My todo list, my status reports,