Doomscrolling Detox

It has been two weeks since my last doomscrolling session. I am on a Twitter detox.

Twitter Detox by Dall-E

Daily I would spend on aggregate one hour scrolling through my Twitter feed, being amazed, laughing, and getting annoyed. And yet, I believed I was learning, staying up to date with the tech world, and gathering information”. After all, the folks I followed were journalists, tech leaders, thought leaders, contrarians, and a few jokesters.

I would also share my brilliant thoughts and insights. I was engaged with the public town square.

The fun ended when my Twitter feed became mostly about Twitter and Elon Musk. The outfall from Elonjet and the hypocrisy from first amendment absolutist Musk was the proverbial drop. I am not quitting Twitter. I still hold hope. I am taking a break. I deleted the application from my iPad and my iPhone.

As with many detox sessions, the immediate results feel amazing. I recuperated some time to read a book or do something productive. Every once in a while you need to leave the town square and go on vacation.

Luckily, I could end with a high note:

December 30, 2022


Previous post
Thank You! What started as a desire to ride my bicycle with others has evolved into something much bigger. Last year, I joined the South Bay Blaze on rides in
Next post
Prediction Mathieu van der Poel is not having his best last 12 months. Sure, there were a few big wins: Dwars door Vlaanderen, a stage win in the Giro