Thank You!

What started as a desire to ride my bicycle with others has evolved into something much bigger. Last year, I joined the South Bay Blaze on rides in the Los Gatos and Woodside mountains. The South Bay Blaze is a bicycling group designed to provide strength and support to all those training for the San Francisco AIDS Foundation’s AIDS/LifeCycle ride: 545 miles from San Francisco to Los Angeles in support of services and people with HIV and AIDS.

I rode many times across Mount Eden, Kennedy Road, and to the top of Alpine. Oh, did I suffer! I stopped for water at Robert’s market a plenty and know every bump of Foothill Express Way. We went all the way South to Morgan Hill and to the top of Alum Rock park. Jamie led us on so many nice roads.

But June 2022 was already booked for me with a trip to Belgium. I missed out on an epic 2022 AIDS LifeCycle ride from San Francisco to Los Angeles.

As if I needed more inspiration, the ALC 2022 SBB video pushed me over the top. I committed for the ALC ride in 2023!

I joined the SBB Hot Summer Street training rides and continued on the 30-milers in the fall. I am ready for the spring training rides. I will be ready to ride all of the Lake Tahoe perimeter, our final ride before heading to the main course.

With the help of many donors, I am also already well on my way to punch my ticket” to LA. Fundraising is new to me. So thank you, thank you, thank you! I have a small bit to go. So if you want to contribute to a great cause, check out https://giving.aidslifecycle.org/participant/JanVanBruaene.

I am finishing 2022 with over 1600 miles in the saddle and over 54,000 ft in elevation gain. Let’s toast to many more miles in 2023!

December 29, 2022 ALC2023


Previous post
Literary Fiction Has All Kinds of Benefits in the Workplace One of my favorite interview questions is to talk about a recent book you have read. When hiring, I am looking for a curious mind and someone who is
Next post
Doomscrolling Detox It has been two weeks since my last doomscrolling session. I am on a Twitter detox. Twitter Detox by Dall-E Daily I would spend on aggregate one