Back in the saddle

It has been more than 10 years, if not 20 years, since I was serious again about getting on the bicycle. I grew up on a bicycle. I restored an old bicycle. I went on vacation throughout Europe on my bicycle. When I got to the US, I immediately when for the big challenges and climbed Mount Hamilton in San Jose. However, it has been a while. I got into running and other sports instead.

Throughout this period, however, my interest and love for the cycling sport has only grown. I became a fanatic spectator. I would wake up very early for the pro cycling races and follow many racers and teams. (Go team Wout, and team Remco!)

Now, I finally invested and got a nice ride: a Trek Checkpoint SL5 gravel bike, and cycling shoes.

I dusted off my cycling pants and still fit into my Vlaanderen 2002 Eddy Merckx jersey.

(By the way, that’s Johan Verstrepen in 1995 wearing the same jersey. Johan raced with the team, and was one of my neighbors in Belgium.)

During my 10 miles inaugural ride, I had to nibble at the mighty 9.4% 3.6 miles Sierra mountain in our backyard. Rather than take Sierra Road, I road up Suncrest Avenue - at least a decent part of it. Wow, what a view of San Jose and the Bay. But also what a %$#!! climb!

May 7, 2021


Previous post
Overcast out-Appled Apple After a recent blogpost by MG Siegler about the stagnation of Apple’s Podcast app, I decided to try out Overcast. I’ve been a very early podcast
Next post
Meditation rides As a runner, my mind would wander and I would come home with tons of ideas. However the effort was typically rather intense, and required