Overcast out-Appled Apple

After a recent blogpost by MG Siegler about the stagnation of Apple’s Podcast app, I decided to try out Overcast.

I’ve been a very early podcast listener. No, not from the Odeo days, but not much thereafter. In recent years, Apple’s podcasting app served me well. Though that seems to be all relative. After spending a day with Overcast, it is clearly the better app to listen to podcasts.

The user interface is simpler. The controls are bigger and right there. It is easier to configure the number of episodes to keep. It is easier to set a sleep timer. I have a better overview of available episodes. Etc.

A lot of these things are subtle. For the same subtle beauty that we praise Apple, Overcast out-appled Apple.

If I have to point out a shortcoming, it is a lack of controllability of the episodes to download to my Apple Watch. When I go for a run, I don’t want to bring my phone with me.

May 1, 2021


Previous post
Liege - Bastogne - Liege 2021 It’s a wrap. The classic season 2021 is over, and we are gearing up for the multi-stage tours. It was therefor fitting that Tadej Pogacar, winner of
Next post
Back in the saddle It has been more than 10 years, if not 20 years, since I was serious again about getting on the bicycle. I grew up on a bicycle. I restored an old