Why Georgia Is My Default Font

You’ve likely seen the funny Instagram reels of the conversing fonts. Which font can rival Arial for the throne of Default?

My font choice, when available1, is Georgia.

Georgia is an elegant serif font, designed for the web. It makes hard to read online documents legible, even when reduced to a small font size. It accomplishes this with a heavier weight, making it an ideal candidate for mobile-responsive design.

Regardless, it is not easy to get buy-in for a font change and challenge Arial for the default font.


  1. Unfortunately, this microblog does not offer Georgia. So I opted for iA Writer’s Duospace font.↩︎

June 30, 2024


Previous post
Optimistic Urgency Shapes Reality In a recent write up to my team, I put forward that we define our plans too early. We don’t understand well what we set out to achieve. Therefore we
Next post
Non-Alcoholic Beers Are on the Rise My Belgian family may disown me for writing about and especially drinking non-alcoholic brews. I started drinking them to get under my ideal