Tour de France 2021

I followed the tour primarily indirectly through podcasts from De Tribune and The Move, a bit of Villa Sporza and Vive Le Velo on Belgian TV, and via Twitter. I did end up watching another win by Wout Van Aert on the cobblestones of the Champs Elysees. Wow!

If I had to summarize this tour in a few sentences, it is that:

  • Tadej is the boss. A young playful boss, but one in command and one we’ll see for many years. What a strong rider.
  • Cav was the dream. The happy ending of a Hollywood movie. The hope for any older sportsman. A publicity gift from the gods for team DeCeunick-Quickstep.
  • Wout is the star. Mont Ventoux, Time Trail and a sprint on the Champs Elysess. A better all-rounder doesn’t exist in the peloton right now.
  • Matthieu was the shooting star. He came, dazzled, and went before it was over.
  • Lots of kids in Slovenia will start racing their bikes. We will see another generation in about 10 years.

As I listened to the final Vive le Velo, I was flabbergasted about how little money these top sporters make. The prize money is a disgrace. Tadej receives a check of $500KEuros, which he has to split with his team. The estimation is about $30KEuros per rider for the winning team. However, most riders in other teams who made it to Paris only take home an extra $1500 Euros.

By comparison, the winner of Roland Garros receives $1.4M, not to be split. And the losers in the first round of the tournament still get $60KEuros. Roland Garros brings in about the same amount of revenue as the Tour.

This ain’t right.

July 18, 2021


Previous post
Don’t trust the machine nor Facebook Today, Biden amped up the rhetoric about COVID-19 misinformation and the role of Facebook. President Biden's message to social media companies about
Next post
Tony I have always been an Anthony Bourdain fan. He was on my short list of people I wish I could hang out with for an evening or a weekend. I was also