Tokyo 2020

Some will say there are better things to do on a Friday evening than to watch six hours of Olympic road cycling. I beg to differ and enjoyed ever bit of it, including the long lead up to the Mikuni pass.

A lot had been said before and during the Tour de France about last night’s race. I had ignored most of it, and didn’t realize how tough the final climb would be.

I was disappointed Greg Van Avermaet shot his cartouche way too early in the race. That didn’t help anyone but the competition. Also Remco’s attack was too early, and left Wout without a possible helper in the final 30km.

Thus, it became everybody against Wout. He was strong, very strong. Yet, so was Richard Carapaz. He took full advantage of the situation and is the deserved winner of the gold medal.

In a nutshell,

  • Richard, the sensei, strong and clever, deserved the gold.
  • Wout, the lion, strong and who fought hard and gave it all. Silver, with a hint of gold.
  • Tadej, the yellow-jersey wearing mountain goat with a surprising end sprint. Bronze.
  • Remco, a mere pussycat, who lacked a punch, and was no factor.
  • Mauri, the dancer, swinging up the mountain.
  • Jan Tratnik, the beast, who was incredible and relentless closing the gap on the early group.

July 24, 2021


Previous post
Tony I have always been an Anthony Bourdain fan. He was on my short list of people I wish I could hang out with for an evening or a weekend. I was also
Next post
When It Comes to the Olympics, I Am a Traditionalist I am not a fanatic when it comes to the Olympic Games. There is always a smell of corruption and global politics surrounding the games. The