This Week in the World of Artificial Intelligence

November 30, 2022 may be a lot like June 29, 2007. On that day in June, Steve Jobs and Apple launched the iPhone. The faithful, myself included, were beyond excited. I still remember that launch and frequently pull it up on Youtube.

Every once in a while a revolutionary product comes along that changes everything.

On November 30th, OpenAI unveiled ChatGPT to the world. It quickly became the fastest growing app in history, faster than Instagram or TikTok. The launch of ChatGPT may very well be a watershed moment, similar to the iPhone.

So I am setting out to follow along and read a lot about what’s going on in the world of AI. Here are a few things I learned this week.

  • The Future of Work With AI - Microsoft March 2023 Event was big! CoPilot for Work is amazing. I am a bit skeptical about how well it works in practice. Yet, you can see the trajectory.
  • Securities podcast on GPT-4 introduced me to Claude from Anthropic. I agree that the name Claude rolls so much easier over the tongue than ChatGPT. I requested access to try out Claude.
  • Winners and losers in the race to add AI: at the moment it is all about embedding ChatGPT into your service. Notion and Snapchat are two examples. Instacart plans to add a recipe robot.
  • We programmed ChatGPT into this article: the ChatGPT service (and others like it) will become an AI confetti bomb that sticks to everything.”
  • I’ve been experimenting with Lex, GPT-4 for your writing. Getting feedback from AI on your writing is promising and something I will experiment with.
  • Marlowe (Authors.AI) is the closest I’ve seen to a true editor. I haven’t tried it myself. I need a bigger manuscript to try it out.
  • The HustleGPT experiment is bananas - interview; article - github repo. Still waiting to read about the return on the $100 investment.
  • Let ChatGPT plan your next vacation. OpenAI released several ChatGPT plugins and an API for others to develop plugins. I am most interested in the Expedia and Kayak plugin. I tried searching for a hotel near Santa Monica in June. However, the ChatGPT recommendations were not powered by Kayak yet. KAYAK on ChatGPT will be gradually enabled for ChatGPT users (starting with ChatGPT Plus subscribers). After additional testing, it will roll out to more users.”
  • RadioGPT brings AI to the airwaves: Futuri’s technology brings AI-generated scripts to broadcasters.

March 26, 2023


Previous post
How to Get Rid of the TicketMonster I love all kinds of music. Yet, I am not a big concert person. Except when the Cure comes to town. Their concerts are amazing and abundant. The Cure
Next post
Apple Music Classical Is so Good That It Needs a MacOS Version of the App To get in the flow, I alternate between EDM, DarkWave, and instrumental music. Anjunadeep on Souncloud and Studio Brussel’s Untz are my bookmarked