The podcast book

I’ve been a fan of Malcolm Gladwell. I enjoy his books, his masterclass and especially his Pushkin Industries’ podcasts. So when he recently released The Bomber Mafia, about the US Air Force during World War 2, I got the audiobook version.

The audiobook was billed as a crossover between an elaborate podcast and an audiobook, with interviews and other audio fragments spliced throughout. It did not disappoint.

I am currently reading” Nomadland as an audiobook while I do chores around the house. What a difference the experience is.

The book is read in a monotone voice, devoid of any enthusiasm. No wonder they cast Frances McDormant in the movie version. No, this is not a critique about Frances. Her style of acting matches the emotions I get listening to the audiobook.

Gladwell is onto something here: abprairie home companion meets Revisionist History meets a good old book. Audiobooks will never be the same after The Bomber Mafia.

May 16, 2021


Previous post
Meditation rides As a runner, my mind would wander and I would come home with tons of ideas. However the effort was typically rather intense, and required
Next post
Here’s to the problem solvers! Here’s to the crazy ones, The misfits, The doers, The gluers, The fillers of both square and round holes… The ones who hear the failing bearing and