Ningxia

Rotten is a fantastic documentary on Netflix about the global food supply. It appalls and is informational. As I was grilling fish, chicken and tons of vegetables tonight, I watched the wine episode, Reign of Terroir.

Little did I know how the Ningxia is becoming the up and coming wine region in the world. Just as Napa surprised the world in 1976, Ningxia wine surprised the world in 2011 when it won the Decanter award.

I never tasted a Chinese wine, except for a rice wine. And the last time I did, it cost me a pretty penny. Around 1996, as I returned from Hong Kong, I brought home a few bottle of Chinese rice wine. Except I wasn’t a US citizen yet, and needed to pay customs on all the things I brought back with me.

After watching the documentary, I am now very curious to taste a real Ningxia wine.

December 19, 2020


Previous post
Chariots of Fire I never watched the 1981 award-winning movie Chariots of Fire. Yet, the theme song by Vangelis is engrained in my mind as a sad song. I have a
Next post
The great equalizer Covid-19 is quickly becoming the great equalizer, where location or how deep your pockets no longer matter as much. Soccer teams have to play