It’s hot in San Jose

I don’t do well with in hot weather. And here we are, amidst a heatwave with temperatures above 100F in San Jose.

We are all now working from home, amidst a pandemic. I live the true Silicon Valley dream, working from my garage. Sadly, our small house lacks air conditioning.

Is this what Arizona feels like all summer? Austin sounds a lot less interesting to me now, if this is what the weather is like for many months.

I remember vividly some of my worst experiences with hot weather.

There was that one where I melted in Arizona: While working at VLSI Technology, our company held a retreat mid-summer in Tempe, Arizona. When we arrived in Phoenix, it was a balmy 90+F. During the day, it was an entirely different story. I still remember the walk from our bungalow to the main conference building. I probably transpired a gallon. We walked from freezer-box to hell and back.

There was that one when I cooked in my own juices in San Luis, Argentina. One summer the temperatures in San Luis must have easily surpassed 105F (San Luis Climate) I recall suffering all day, trying to sleep a siesta in these hot temperatures. Life came about only after 10PM when the temperatures were more reasonable.

And then there is today. We normally enjoy a cooling in the evening, from over the Pacific Ocean. However due to circumstances, the temperature remains balmy all evening.

August 15, 2020


Previous post
Eroding our basic systems "business as usual" #dontBelieveIt https://t.co/7CPDrL046D — waffletchnlgy 🚴 (@waffletchnlgy) August 14, 2020 My neighbor postal worker came
Next post
My son’s new guitar my son’s new guitar