Green Shorts guy

Over the last weeks, I’ve been alternating between hikes on the Bay Area backyard trails and running the mean streets of San Jose. My goal is to increase the distance slowly to be able to run another half marathon. After a few 4 mile runs in the past weeks, my next target distance is a 10K (6.2mi).

The hardest part on these runs is to quiesce my active mind, and make it focus on anything else — but running. I often listen to podcasts. Today, I rekindled listening to Ali on the Run. I used to listen to her regularly over two years ago.

Trotting around the hard pavement near my house in my green shorts, I listed to the Ali on the Run Show with Calum Neff. They discuss in great detail what it took to pace Sara Hall at The Marathon Project in Arizona.

Calum is also known as green shorts guy. Running in green shorts is probably only thing we have in common. He runs marathons, and at a 5:20min/mi pace. My pace is double that, and over the shorter 10K distance.

I am glad I rediscovered Ali’s podcast as the run was over before I realized it.

December 30, 2020


Previous post
Prof G 2021 Predictions Pour yourself a glass of your favorite alcoholic libation. Strap yourself in your office chair and be ready to be overwhelmed by the 2021
Next post
A short update of two numbers The first number is 216.9. It is the number of miles I have run in 2020. This year was not a stellar running year. We sheltered a lot at home this