Fourth of July

The last few Fourth of July celebrations we spent with friends, at a block party in a more affluent part of San Jose. Red, white and blue. Barbecue and apple pie. It all feels bliss.

And yet.

We drove home listening to a Fourth of July playlist featuring Bruce Springsteen’s Born in the USA, John Mellencamp’s Jack and Diane, Miley Cyrus’ Party in the U.S.A., and the classic by Lee Greenwood.

If tomorrow all the things were gone
I worked for all my life
And I had to start again
With just my children and my wife
I’d thank my lucky stars
To be livin’ here today
Cause the flag still stands for freedom
And they can’t take that away


And I’m proud to be an American
Where at least I know I’m free
And I won’t forget the men who died
Who gave that right to me
And I’d gladly stand up
Next to you and defend her still today
Cause there ain’t no doubt I love this land
God bless the USA

As we drove from the richness of the Rose Garden past the fairly recent shanty town along Guadalupe Gardens, the contrast of America could not be more clear. People are living in tents and rickety trailers, scavenging garbage for cans.

We would be better of investing a little time today in helping those for whom America doesn’t feel like a dream today. That would be true patriotism. Share some of that freedom”.

July 4, 2021


Previous post
If everybody did billing like doctors and hospitals As the surgeon returned to car dealership to pick up his car, he wasn’t happy. He had taken his Land Rover for a tune up and to check out where the
Next post
First real-use impressions of my iPad Air I’ve been using my new iPad Air for a two weeks. Since, I bought a Spigen protecting case and stand. This saves me a separate stand. Thus far, the