First real-use impressions of my iPad Air

I’ve been using my new iPad Air for a two weeks. Since, I bought a Spigen protecting case and stand. This saves me a separate stand.

Thus far, the experience has been excellent. I enjoy switching between a keyboard and a tablet set up. I read the news, browse the web and scroll through Twitter in tablet mode. I write using my Bluetooth keyboard. I have to admit that Microsoft was onto something when they first came up with the transformer-laptop-tablet, or however they called it.

Wherever I can, I install the iPad application: e.g., I installed the Medium app, rather than accessing it via the browser. iPad native applications provide regularly a superior experience over a browser-based version. There are exceptions though. For example, the Google Sheets application is limited in functionality and inferior to the the browser-based version. I could not figure out how to format a cell in the app and had to resort to the browser.

There have been a few cases where I missed a large monitor. My work setup includes a large monitor, mechanical keyboard and vertical mouse. I haven’t tried if my iPad can connect to an external monitor.

I haven’t felt I needed a trackpad. The touch screen is right there in front of me. Since I have an external Bluetooth trackpad, I will try it out when I at home. However, it is not something I plan to drag along on the move. My roaming kit is a simple sleeve with an iPad, the keyboard and my AirPods. I do miss the audio jack, as my more comfortable headphones are not Bluetooth-enabled.

The iPad Air surely is a step up from the older iPads I used. Those felt a smaller cousin to a laptop. Thus far, I have not felt that way with the iPad Air, for the read-write-check type of daily tasks.

July 5, 2021


Previous post
Fourth of July The last few Fourth of July celebrations we spent with friends, at a block party in a more affluent part of San Jose. Red, white and blue. Barbecue
Next post
Italy Beats England in the European Championship 2020 Few things are more daunting as entering the lion’s den to watch the final of the European Championship 2020, between England and Italy. I was