End of 2023 Productivity Toolset

Here’s a list of tools I have been using this year to get stuff done.

  • Todo lists and Tasks
    • The basic interface, capabilities, and Siri integration make Apple Reminders work well for my personal todo list. Most often I think of things to do while in the car, cycling, or even in the pool. Voice integration on Apple devices is the killer feature.
    • I use Obsidian for lots of things at work, including a todo file for every month. Since my Obsidian Vault is stored in Dropbox, I can access it from any device and using many different text editing tools.
  • Notes and Narratives
    • I’ve written by my notes system before. I continue to use Markdown with 1Writer (on iOS) and iAWriter.
    • My notes are stored in two Obsidian vaults (read: notebooks). Most of my work and personal notes are in a common vault, stored in Dropbox. I can access them from any device. I also have separate vault on iCloud for notes I want to easily access on my iPhone. Although I do have a paid Obsidian license, I do not pay for their Synch capability.
    • I prefer to write for work using Google Docs over Word or Confluence, primarily for its collaborative features. However, Google Docs does lack good merge capabilities.
    • I journal regularly in Day One. I tried Apple Journal briefly, though still prefer the capabilities of Day One.
  • Matter is my reading and read-later app. It integrates well with Obsidian to save highlights.
  • Presentations
    • I opt for Google Slides over PowerPoint. I gravitate to iA Presenter for impromptu presentations and presentations that I like to thinker with often.
  • After trying other iOS podcasting apps, I keep going back to Apple Podcast. Combined with Apple Music and Apple Classical, there is a common interface between them.
  • There are new AI-powered tools released almost weekly. I try many of them so long as a metered free version is available. I see myself go to Google Bard more often than using OpenAI ChatGPT. I also enabled the AI-capabilities in Gmail and the other Google App Suite. I tried image generation tools like Dall-E, but I don’t use them often. The initial results were less than stellar.
  • There are several fitness and health related apps I use regularly: Cronometer for tracking my food, Strava and Garmin Connect for my cycling trips, runs, swims and other workouts. Apple Health aggregates a lot of the data. I am on the fence to switch from the Apple Watch to a Garmin Watch.

I am a big fan of WonderTools to learn about new capabilities and tools.

December 31, 2023


Previous post
Car Shopping Baffles Me Tank, my 2005 white Volvo V70 station wagon, is nearing 200,000 miles. It is still a great car to drive to work or to load my bicycle in the trunk
Next post
Who Killed JFK? Rob Reinier and Soledad O’Brien’s podcast has hijacked my commute for the past few days with their reporting on Who Killed JFK. With the film JFK,