Bubble bubble bubble

I am caught up on the current state of the presidential election. All eyes are on Pennsylvania, Arizona, Nevada, and Georgia. The fact that Georgia is this close is a surprise to me. I would have expected Florida to be in this list as well.

The bigger surprise and sadness however is how many Americans still support this president. We can disagree on policy decisions: tax-cuts or no tax-cuts, affordable care act or not.

However, I don’t consider this election about policy. This is about whether we accept a blatant liar in the White House.

The fact that so many people still voted for this president illustrates also a lack of my understanding of the rest of the country. Living in the Bay Area, I have been living a sheltered US existence: lots of job opportunities, mostly white collar jobs, a large diversity including from many different countries and cultures, and overall a good response to covid-19 pandemic. As soon as this pandemic is over, let’s leave our bubble and do a cross country road trip. We can start in the South and travel the mid west. As a matter of fact, the blue-red colored map is a nice roadmap.

November 5, 2020


Previous post
The day after the evening of I was very successful avoiding any election night coverage. As a result, I fell asleep very swiftly. This morning, it is very hard to avoid any
Next post
Bonarda, it’s here! Today we opened up a bottle of Santa Julia wine, a mix of Malbec and Bonarda. The first time I heard about Bonarda was a few years ago, while