15 years

I’ve been with RTI for 15 years! Fifteen years. That is a long time to work for the same company in Silicon Valley.

As a thank you, the company gifts you an iPad. I didn’t want yet another generic tablet. I wanted it to be the device: the device which becomes my new personal machine for all things writing, reading, browsing and watching.

At first, my eye fell on the iPad Pro with its M1 hunky hunky processor. It is a fantastic machine, except for the iPadOS software. Most reviews I read want to load macOS on the machine, or advise you to buy a MacBook M1 Air. The iPad Pro is expensive.

I didn’t want another computer. I wanted something smaller, easier to take on an outing or a trip. I was ok with a more limited operating system. After all, the iPad does great for the tasks I wanted to use it for. I wanted a better writing station, better than my iPhone/Bluetooth keyboard/stand combo.

I therefor opted for the sky blue Wifi iPad Air with 256GB of storage. On day one, the device exceeds my expectations. It is beautiful, and light and small enough. I use it with a bluetooth keyboard I already had and a separate stand. I probably will switch to the Logitech keyboard and case in the future.

The only application I lacked thus far was an native WhatsApp app. Although I read that is in the works.

Some of the apps I use: Medium, Day One, Twitter, YouTube, Netflix, Disney+, Pocket, Dropbox, iA Writer, NY Times, Dashlane, NordVPN, Google Works applications, Google Photos, Chrome, Discord, Dr. Wolf Chess and LinkedIn.

June 26, 2021


Previous post
LinkedIn, what am I doing wrong? For the past year LinkedIn pings fall into two categories. The first group commends you on your work, your company, your skills, your writing only
Next post
If everybody did billing like doctors and hospitals As the surgeon returned to car dealership to pick up his car, he wasn’t happy. He had taken his Land Rover for a tune up and to check out where the