Trigger Your Mind’s Coprocessor Through Mundane Tasks

Have you ever noticed that your best ideas come when you’re not actively trying to think about them? Maybe you’re taking a shower, or going for a walk, or doing some other mundane task. And suddenly, you have a brilliant insight into a problem you’ve been struggling with.

Remember Tim Urban’s procrastination monkey? It needs to be kept busy on stupid things, so that the real brains can focus.

After a run, swim or bicycle ride, I have a long list of items I came up with. You may find me with my bicycle stopped at a traffic light speaking a reminder or note into my Apple Watch. I wish I could easily tag time stamps in a podcast for later.

Doing mundane tasks can be so helpful for creativity and problem-solving. When you’re running, swimming, or doing the dishes, your brain is free to wander and come up with new ideas. So next time you’re stuck on a problem, try taking a break from thinking about it and do something mindless instead. You might just be surprised at what you come up with.

July 31, 2023


Previous post
Ed Catmull and Pete Docter, in Conversation With Adam Grant One of my favorite books about working as a team and building a culture of experimentation and creativity is Creativity Inc by Pixar’s Ed Catmull.
Next post
Strava, Meet Facebook Groups and Facebook Messenger Strava is the place for athletes and weekend warriors to track their runs, bicycle rides, or swims. It is where your team mates will laud your