This Week in the World of Artificial Intelligence

Here are a few things I learned this week about the fast moving field of artificial intelligence.

The Future of Life Institute letter to pause giant AI experiments may have had a chance if it didn’t have the name Elon Musk attached to it. It is difficult to take him serious at this time.

… we call on all AI labs to immediately pause for at least 6 months the training of AI systems more powerful than GPT-4. This pause should be public and verifiable, and include all key actors. If such a pause cannot be enacted quickly, governments should step in and institute a moratorium.

AI-powered magic erasers galore: Canva and Google Photos (even without the new Pixel 8) both offer powerful magic erasers. We had to fire Phoebe … erase her from the company picture!” … That’s a nice picture of you in Hawaii, did you go alone? … no, it was our honeymoon but I erase him after the divorce.” … or Shaggy now has (doctered) photographic proof: It wasn’t me!”.

After listening to the last MFM podcast episode on Brainstorming ChatGPT Business Ideas With Billionaire Dharmesh Shah, I head over to chat.com and chatspot.ai. (Prompt.com is still being transitioned over to Dharmesh, he mentioned.)

Thanks to AI, now we all can rap like Kanye West.

Adobe not to be outdone by DAL-E pitched Adobe Firefly. I started to experiment with DAL-E for images for my presentations. Firefly seems a bit more impressive to that goal. I added myself to the Beta list.

April 2, 2023


Previous post
March AIDS/Lifecycle Training Recap This month, I logged 263 miles, climbed over 11,000 ft, and achieved 192 personal records, in rain and sunshine. I suffered up the stiff climbs of
Next post
This Week in the World of Artificial Intelligence Here are a few things I learned this week about the fast moving field of artificial intelligence. Lawyers are wakening up and entering unchartered