The Times Are Really Good

One of the great Christmas presents I received in recent years was a subscription to the New York Times. Since last month, I am now also subscribed to the Los Angeles Times, after my son wanted it for this twentieth birthday. It also brings a California perspective to the US news.

I’ve been truly impressed by both newspapers, both about its content and how it is delivered. The New York Times iOS application is beautiful and functional. The story telling through the digital exposes are superb. The website becomes more than just a digital version of the print paper.

I read the LA Times ePaper daily on my iPad. I looks like just a photo of the print paper. However, it gives you a sense of reading the physical paper, and allows you click into the articles and share them with one click. Also the LA Times iOS application is well done.

One feature I am missing in both applications is the ability to highlight sentences. Therefore, I share interesting articles to Matter, where I can mark them up, save them for later, or share quotes on Twitter.

Both Times set themselves apart from our local newspapers, the San Francisco Chronicle and San Jose Mercury News, and from many other newspapers.

I don’t know how many people subscribe to the New York and LA Times, or how expensive their staff is. Hopefully, they can make the books balance and demonstrate there is life for the newspaper industry after all.

November 24, 2021


Previous post
New Lingo Recently, I came to learn two new terms, bikeshedding and yak shaving. Cyril Parkinson, a British naval historian, is foremost known for Parkinson’s
Next post
Kindle Notes Needs a Blood Infusion The Kindle is an amazing product. Yet Amazon failed to build out great note, snippet and book recommendation applications. Goodreads hasn’t changed