The Big Terrible Thing

I enjoyed reading Matthew Perry’s memoir Friends, Lovers, and the Big Terrible Thing. If you are looking for lots of Friends’ stories, you will be disappointed. This book is about Matty’s struggles with addiction.

Because I do not read the tabloids, the depth of his struggles was news to me. I had heard of drugs during one of the seasons of Friends. Which famous actor or musician overindulge in alcohol or drugs from time to time? Could it be more cliche? Reading this memoir, his addiction was at another level. It was hell.

The New York Times headline was on point: The One Where Matthew Perry Writes an Addiction Memoir.

December 8, 2023


Previous post
In Spain, It Is Not About the Food or the Drink. It Is About the Company and the Conversations. On a recent trip through the South of Spain, it struck me how one just orders a red wine or a beer. You don’t order a Rioja El Diablo 2015 or a
Next post
Love Is Awesome Judd Apatow and Paul Rust’s Netflix Series, Love, is awesome. It reminds me of Reality Bites, where the dialogue is the true star. The conversation