Superbowl 2021

Today is the Superbowl or the summum of American football and of American advertising. People look forward to what the creative geniuses have concocted for commercials.

This year’s sportive battle is between the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and the Kansas City Chiefs. It is between a team without a true soul and one which is conflicted with its native Americanness. It is between the old guard, Tom Brady, and the young buck, Patrick Mahomes.

Being a Niner fan, it is hard to admit that the true GOAT is Tom Brady. He undoubtedly is the greatest quarterback of the decade. He supersedes Joe Montana and, my favorite, Steve Young.

That’s why I am rooting for Tom Brady. I want him to do extremely well today. His team needs him to do extremely well, to be able to counter the explosiveness and virtuosity of Patrick Mahomes and team. And most of all, I want it to be an exciting game. I want it to be a game where teams go for it on fourth down, every single time. I want it to be a game where the teams play to win, and not play to avoid a big loss. When you make it this far, you should go for the win. Too often finals are reserved games, and the half-finals is where the action is. Thus I wish this game will be a half-final final.

Go Niners.

February 7, 2021


Previous post
Hardtalk Recently I was introduced in the hard-hitting BBC television show/ podcast, Hardtalk. The host Stephen Sackur takes no punches. The exchange with
Next post
This is Jan and I am done speaking After a week on the new audio-focussed social app Clubhouse, the most common phrase I heard was “and I am done speaking”. It sounds a little harsh,