Srac Is San Jose’s Best Kept Secret Pool

The San Jose State University’s Spartan Recreation and Aquatic Center (SRAC) is a brand new facility. It opened in 2019. It is San Jose’s best kept secret pool.

For a while, I have been looking for an affordable pool to swim laps.

Most pools are connected to a gym requiring a monthly membership. They are also heavily packed with often two or three swimmers per lane. I looked into YMCA and Villa Sport. Villa Sport came out to be $150/month.

Cabana clubs are another option and can benefit the entire family. However, they require an upfront investment of purchasing somebody’s share in the club. Last I checked this was $500.

Local pool tend either to have odd hours or were catering more to the recreational splash and swim for kids.

That’s when I stumbled on SRAC. This $140 million facility has a smaller 25-meter pool to swim laps, a recreational pool, and a large 50-meter pool with 1-and 3-meter diving boards. A monthly community membership is $60. Day passes for the family are $5 per person.

This week was my first week exercising in the early evenings. On the busiest day, there were 4 people swimming laps in the big pool! Even on July 11, National Pool day, there were only a handful of people exercising and swimming laps. Friday evening, I had the entire pool for myself, under the watchful eye of my private life guard.

I anticipate this luxury will all change when school is back in session. We shall see.

July 17, 2022


Previous post
In My Backyard In recent months, I was shocked twice to learn about somewhat major events that happened in my backyard, and of which I didn’t know anything at all.
Next post
Tour De France 2022: All In. “This has been the best Tour de France in years!” Potentially. It sure ranks up there. The battle between Jonas Vingegaard and Tadej Pogacar was