Saturday morning

Go Run

Corona kilos are real. Just like the virus is very real. In recent weeks, I started the routine of jumping rope in the early morning, and to go walk and run in the evening. Between the walks and the short runs, I will be surpassing 20 miles this week. Those are mostly walking miles. My runs have been 2 to 3 mile runs. My half marathon race is now in the distant past. My wish is to be ready for another half marathon, when the pandemic is over.

Today it was time to start pushing again towards 4 miles runs. It has been tricky to get a run in, amid a busy work schedule and the large fluctuations in air quality due to the wild fires nearby. On a given day we start with an air quality index (AQI) of about 90, and on the worst days it will go past 200 by the afternoon.

It was good run.

4.1 Miles4.1 Miles

Ghost 13

The only true running shoe I’ve owned are the Brooks Ghost model. I’ve ran over 450 miles in both the Ghost 10, and Ghost 11 versions. A few weeks ago, I bought a pair of Ghost 13. This version is truly the best: it is light, and the ankle support has gotten stiffer. It is fantastic stability shoe. Ghost 13

Woop

When I go for a run, I plan how to keep my mind busy. Rarely do I run without listening to something or somebody. My mind is too active. Even when I listen to music, my mind wonders off thinking about this or that.

Today’s run included two podcasts: Lance Armstrong’s The Move podcast with a preview of the Tour de France 2020, and NPRs Hidden Brain. I don’t find Shankar Vedantam’s voice a great radio voice. Yet, the content of Hidden Brain is amazing.

The episode about Goop marries the US can-do attitude, with European skepticism. It couldn’t hit home stronger.

August 29, 2020


Previous post
Pandemic, Heat and now Air About a week ago, the thunderous storms with lightning set off some many wild fires. Rare thunder and lightning storm over the SF Bay Area.
Next post
My first brisket After cooking chicken, sausages and ribs in the past months, I was ready for my first brisket. I was extra motivated, after taking Aaron Franklin’s