Mount Hamilton

It has been over 25 years since I cycled up Mount Hamilton in San Jose. I previously completed it two or three times, on a heavy bicycle, and with much younger and stronger legs.

Yesterday, I started before 8am on the climb. Riding up in the fog and drizzle was pleasant and cool. This is a climb in three parts: first you climb to Joseph Grant valley, then there is a short climb to the CalFire station and bridge, before hitting the final 10 miles climb to Lick Observatory.

37 miles - 4854 ft climbing - under 4 hours

With the annual ride around Lake Tahoe last weekend and the climb to Mount Hamilton yesterday, I completed two big goals for this year.

May 28, 2024 cycling healthyLifestyle


Previous post
This Week in the World of Artificial Intelligence Here are a few things I learned this week about the fast moving field of artificial intelligence. AI flies a F15 fighter jet in a real world
Next post
Synching Fitness Apps Is Complicated I have an Apple Watch 4, use Apple Fitness, track my rides on a Garmin Edge 840 cycle computer, have a Fitbit scale, and am a Strava premium