Great support is golden (or a nice bbq brown)

The Fourth of July weekend started in mineur. My Camp Chef Pellet grill finally had arrived via Fedex. However it had suffered a little damage in transit. I hoped the hopper dent was only cosmetic. The assembly had been easy. But unfortunately, the auger had suffered a fatal blow and didn’t turn. No pellets made it to the burn pot.

In the Camp Chef Smokers Smokers Facebook group I had read rave reviews about the Camp Chef support team. It was time to put their support to the test. A few emails back and forth and new hopper assembly was on its way. The interaction had been smooth and response times (given covid-times) acceptable.

Today I heard the Fedex truck arrive and was giddy to get it all fixed. I installed the new hopper and auger and it worked right out of the box as expected. Installation was a breeze with 8 screws. As I write this, a pork butt has been on the smoker for almost seven hours. The picture below is from hour 5. In short while I will wrap it and do the final cook at 295F. I am following Aaron Franklins masterclass instructions on this cook.

Pork Butt Hour 5Pork Butt Hour 5

I don’t know how Camp Chef is handling the costs of fixing shipping issues. Perhaps it is margin or perhaps it is covered by insurance. Nevertheless, the customer references surely are making up for it. Going into this, I knew they were going to make it right.

Protect your brand by handing great customer service. Don’t penny pinch.

July 18, 2020


Previous post
Saturday Morning Outdoor office saturday morning outdoor office
Next post
DonnerLake donnerlake