Fish Grill

This weekend, I started learning the fine art of grilling fish. Grilling fish is a lot less forgiving I suspect than a big piece of meat. I’ve tasted rubbery cod or dry grilled salmon. I knew this may take a few attempts.

On the menu:

  • Salmon filets - I let it sit overnight in a bed of brown sugar (1/2 cup), and coarse salt (1/4 cup). In hindsight, it was too much salt.
  • Mackerel - I bought them frozen and salted. In the morning, I marinated them in dijon mustard, lime and coarse pepper.
  • Large Shrimps, marinated in Gochujang red pepper paste, garlic, cumin, cayenne and lime.

Fish GrillFish Grill

I smoked the fish and shrimps at 180F, high smoke for 2-3 hours until the internal temperature of the salmon was about 145F.

The food came up excellent (except for a little too much salt on the outside of the salmon).

September 27, 2020


Previous post
working from a San Diego AirBnB working from a san diego airbnb
Next post
The longest day Yesterday, I completed one of my longest driving days: San Jose to San Diego and back in one day. 915 miles, in 14 hours at an average speed of