First Triathlon

July 14th, 2024. The French national holiday. I completed my first triathlon: the Tri for Fun Sprint Triathlon at Rancho Seco in Herald, CA - 750 meters swimming, 16 miles cycling and 5K running.

After completing the AIDS LifeCycle (ALC) ride in 2023, I had been looking for a new goal.

I signed up to be a Training Ride Leader (TRL) for my ALC team. This meant often that I was sweeping the ride and supporting the new, yet slow, riders. I wasn’t pushing myself.

The real workouts were now happening in the gym. I joined a new gym in November. I lifted weights, completed HIT classes, and I started to swim. Nothing gave me as much energy as a 5:30am swim in the outdoor pool. The idea for a triathlon hadn’t hatched yet. As I still was experiencing some plantar fasciitis in my left foot, I wasn’t running.

Fast forward to the spring. The ride around Lake Tahoe in May was my first big goal. So what’s next? I wasn’t riding ALC this year. I started dreaming of doing a triathlon. My swim workouts became more deliberate. I bought new running shoes and started short runs. And in June I bit the bullet and signed up.

The Tri for Fun was indeed a lot of fun. It went by in a heartbeat. I felt great and never like I was suffering. That doesn’t mean it was easy either.

Swimming in open water was harder than I thought. Not that there were waves. I bumped quite a few times into others and often got of course to the buoy. I never felt I was in my regular and steady swim rhythm. I exited the water towards the back of my age bracket.

Perhaps because it was a race and my first tri, my breath and heart rate showed it. Only by cycle 5, did I feel I could relax a little, and only for a short while. Then I got back in overdrive. It is surely something to work on in future races.

Cycling was great. The course had rolling hills. I could catch up to many ahead of me. It is my strongest event.

The run went much better than I expected. It was a dirt road with rolling hills. You had to push yourself a bit. You also had to watch out for rocks and when crossing cattle gates. I had prepared a great motivational Apple Music playlist that got me into the zone. Rocky, Eminem, Darube.

My transitions were smooth. Having a tri suit makes them easy. I didn’t need a wet suite as this lake was warm.

What’s next? I had a 100 mile ride early August. I am toying with the idea of a half marathon in October, as I won’t have too much time cycling and swimming in September and October. If I want to do an Olympic-distance triathlon, I will need to be more deliberate about my training. We’ll figure out the next goals in August.

July 14, 2024 healthyLifestyle


Previous post
Gravel Stages Are Here to Stay in the Tour De France Today, the riders in the Tour de France completed the dreaded stage 9, the gravel stage with 14 gravel sections. The gravel, cobblestone, and
Next post
Google Docs Private View - Highlight and Take Notes, Privately Far too often, Google Docs creates more work for us than needed. I’ve previously written about how we use Google Docs for collaboration is all