Apple Fitness+ is for the pudgy anti-gym-rat

I joined Apple Fitness+ on a whim (read, great advertising by Apple). I lacked motivation to work out during the pandemic and missed my running group, the MVARCs, and the sweat of my fellow Orange-Theorists.

My first workout was a 10 minutes Core exercise, and a 5 minutes cool-down. After an outdoor run, I went again to Apple Fitness+ for a 5 minutes cool-down.

A month later, I still go back to Apple Fitness+ regularly. I especially enjoy the 20-30 minutes dance workouts. I put on my headphones and dance outdoors in the backyard. I pray my neighbors are not watching or sending in a video submission to America’s Funniest Videos. They are guaranteed a laugh. But I don’t care. I am having a lot of fun.

Apple Fitness+ is not for the gym rat. It is not for the serious runner nor the weekend sports fanatic. It is for the busy and somewhat overweight parent. It is for the person who wants to work out but may not be able to find the time or arrange childcare to make a trip to the gym. They also cater to a large group and provide a good beginner level of exercises.

It is also for the person who got suckered into an expensive gym membership before and doesn’t want to fall for the same trap. At $80/year, Apple Fitness+ is a much better deal.

It is for me: bite-sized, on my schedule and at my level. The Time to Walk series are a change of pace for the podcasts while I go on a walk.

I want to try different exercises: HITT, strength and yoga.

There are still a few things which need perfecting. Occasionally Apple Fitness+ does not connect with my Apple Watch, even though all fine Bluetooth-wise. The fact that Apple Fitness+ doesn’t integrate well with Roku Apple TV app is disappointing. I am limited to follow along on my small iPhone screen.

March 21, 2021


Previous post
First crypto Last night, I bought my first crypto: 500 ADA through the Voyager mobile app. Many smart people I know have been investing in BitCoin or other
Next post
E3 Harelbeke In the World Cup soccer, the half finals are always more exciting than the final game. Today, the same was true in cycling. The E3 Saxo Bank Classic