Alc Packing List Notes

AIDS LifeCycle shares a good packing list and has in-person and virtual sessions to discuss what to bring and how to pack it.

The South Bay Blaze publishes their Picky Packing List which has valuable information from experienced riders.

In camp, I was surprised by some of the items folks had brought. I was equally flabbergasted how they actually got it stashed away in their luggage. Some folks brought a full size and voluminous sleeping mattress. Others even brought a sleeping cot. Those stood in stark contrast to my minimalist Thermarest. It didn’t really matter since I slept deeply after a long day of cycling. I didn’t even need any earplugs or eye cover.

There are a few things I would alter the next time around:

  • Different type of luggage - The wheels on a regular travel suitcase are barely suitable for the grassy fields. I should have heeded the advice for a roller bag with those skateboard-like wheels.
  • Crocs - I had brought both flip flops and sneakers. The flip flops are uncomfortable to walk in, and the sneakers impractical to get in and out of. I really only needed Crocs-like shoes: easy to get in an out of the tent and functional for the shower trucks.
  • More clips - I had brought 4 clips to hang cloths onto the tent. Pack at least 8 or 10 of them. You can quickly dry your cycling clothes as well as your towel. I didn’t wash my cycling gear and had a fresh outfit daily. Some folks did wash their clothes regularly and having many clips will be key in that case.
  • A large microfiber towel - A regular beach towel doesn’t dry fast enough and my small microfiber towel was very small. I made it work though.
  • Medicated blistex - while I had plenty of SPF lip balm, I ended up with a blister on my lips. Only when I got home and could apply some medicated Blistex did it heal. I did bring too much sunscreen. One tube is more than enough, instead of the 3 that I had brought.
  • Instead of my tube of Bengay, bring patches with lidocaine.
  • A beanie is warmer than a hooded sweatshirt, and you can use it also when going to sleep.
  • Outdoor tent light decoration makes it easier to find your tent. I left my waterbottle outside so that gave me a clue as well.
  • I did pack too many (3 large + 2 smaller) battery packs.
  • There was no need for swimtrunks.

Aside of these few tweaks, I felt well prepared. There wasn’t really anything I lacked.

June 19, 2023 ALC2023


Previous post
Alc Showertrucks and Bathrooms A week camping out means a week of porta potties. There are hundreds of them: at every rest stop, at lunch, and in camp. At the rest stops, they are
Next post
Air I love a great against-all-odds documentary. The story of Sonny Vaccaro is exactly that. Ever since watching the trailer of Air, I wanted to watch