A Wet January Meant a Slow Start to the Training

January started slowly with only a few rides, while dodging the rain drops. Overall, I worked out for almost 14 hours, completed 28 workouts of all sorts, completed 5 rides (125 miles), and broke 71 personal records. I am getting stronger.

The team is also nicely coming together. I read that almost 40 of the South Bay Blaze will participate this year in the ride to Los Angeles.

Not only do we ride together, there was a great team showing at the South Bay happy hour and the NorCal AIDS/Lifecycle Expo in San Francisco. The Expo was a great place for newbies to learn about the ride and to get some free gear, donated by Pedal It Forward. I got a lot of great training jerseys and cold weather gear.

The team bicycle clinic was amazing with a lot of tips, tricks, and gear to fix and maintain the bike. I got most of the missing gear since from Amazon. I also learned how to deal with tubeless tires.

Also the fundraising is making good progress. I raised a tad over $3000, well on my way to the $3500 to push my ticket to Los Angeles. Thank you to all my sponsors; your money is going to a great cause.

February 3, 2023 ALC2023


Previous post
Don’t Mess With the Garvey Sisters Although Apple TV+ has a more limited offering than other streaming services, the quality appears to be consistently high. In the midst of the
Next post
A Ride of a Lifetime Reads Like Walking Along Squeaky Clean Main Street in Disney Land A Ride of a Lifetime is Bob Iger’s autobiography as a CEO of Walt Disney corporation. It hits the expected high notes of his career: a career that