Viva Calle San Jose

Three times a year, San Jose temporarily blocks First Street for 6 miles to Martial Cottle Park to bike, skate, or walk. It is called the Viva Calle San Jose event with music, vendors, graffiti artists, and many, many food trucks. Taco galore!

After my 80 miles ride yesterday, riding to Viva Calle San Jose was a great way to stretch my legs. These 22 miles pushed me also over the 100 miles in a weekend bar.

San Jose has invested a lot in recent years in bike infrastructure. Separate bike lanes make it much safer to ride. While it dwarfs in comparison to Holland, I applaud the progress.

I do have one important request for the mayor: please run your street sweepers over the bike lanes from time to time. There is a lot of glass, metal, and other debris in the bicycles lanes. It is one big obstacle course, requiring even to get into traffic.

The odometer for the year stands currently at 610 miles. My 2024 goal is 2024 miles. I’ve been riding less and spent more time in the pool and in the gym. And I am not getting the big bump from the AIDS Lifecycle ride. There is still plenty of time to ride.

April 21, 2024


Previous post
Developers Can Learn a Thing or Two From Comedians I recently discovered a pandemic era podcast by comedian and storyteller, Mike Birbiglia. You may know him from his Netflix specials or heard his
Next post
Account Suspended To my big surprise, I am locked out of both Instagram and Threads. It is unclear why. I haven’t posted anything to Instagram recently. Perhaps, a