Account Suspended

To my big surprise, I am locked out of both Instagram and Threads.

It is unclear why. I haven’t posted anything to Instagram recently. Perhaps, a rare Threads like or repost tripped the Mighty Algorithm. However, I cannot recall anything was inflammatory in nature.

I appealed. The appeal process involved taking a selfie to show I was a real person. That was it. I suspect I got caught in some robot repost.

We’ll take another look at your account. If we find your account does follow our Terms of Use, you’ll be able to use Instagram again. If we find your account doesn’t follow our Terms of Use, it will be permanently disabled and you won’t be able to appeal again.

Ouch, that’s pretty rough language, and a message I imagined applies to robots, blatant lies, and spammers.

… to be continued.

UPDATE: On 4/23, my Instagram and Threads account was restored.

Thanks for taking the time to request a review. We reviewed your account and found that the activity on it does follow our Terms of Use, so you can use Instagram again. We’re sorry we got this wrong and that you weren’t able to use Instagram for a while. Sometimes we need to take action to help keep our community safe.

That’s great and all. Yet, the mystery remains.

April 21, 2024


Previous post
Viva Calle San Jose Three times a year, San Jose temporarily blocks First Street for 6 miles to Martial Cottle Park to bike, skate, or walk. It is called the Viva Calle
Next post
That Support Case From Space Just listened to the Hard Fork episode with guest Todd Barber about fixing Voyager 1’s computer. Todd describes debugging a computer problem 15